Interior hero background

Altru Welcomes New Board Member

Posted OnJanuary 11, 2024

Grand Forks, N.D. - Altru Health System appointed Scott Meyer to join the non-profit's board of directors in December 2023.

“Having access to healthcare for all people is a priority to me,” Meyer said. “Emphasizing a healthy lifestyle through diet and exercise while having local, community-oriented healthcare options is vital to a strong region.”

Meyer is a Mortgage Planner for the Benchmark Mortgage branch in Grand Forks. He has spent more than 15 years in the mortgage industry. Additionally, Meyer serves in the North Dakota Legislative Assembly as a state senator and member of the Appropriations Committee. As a state senator, he has sponsored many quality-of-life policies for military families and veterans and worked with his colleagues to deliver funds for the Grand Forks community.

“We are thrilled to welcome Scott to Altru’s board of directors,” said Karen McLennan, Altru’s board chair. “Scott's commitment to serving our military families, and his experience in the state legislature, will be an asset to our health system.”

Meyer grew up in Nelson County, North Dakota. After graduating from Larimore High School, Meyer graduated from the University of North Dakota in 2006. As a rural resident, Meyer knows how important wellness is to people living in northeastern North Dakota and northwestern Minnesota.

“Having access to high-quality healthcare ensures our community members can manage their well-being, close to home, in Grand Forks,” said Meyer.

Meyer is currently the co-chair of The Chamber’s Military Affairs Committee, where he volunteers for many events to welcome our airmen & their families to the community.

In his free time, Meyer spends time with his family at the lake, golfing, curling and playing softball. He often travels to watch his seven nieces and nephews’ sporting events and recitals.

Altru’s Board of Directors is a volunteer board comprised of community members, Altru physicians and Altru’s president and CEO. Currently, 11 individuals serve on the board.